Juneteenth at a Glance

Why We Do What We Do

JUNETEENTH AT A GLANCE

Juneteenth Intercontinental University (JIU) is a bi-lingual (English-French) university. It is established primarily as an online university and as the first and the only racialized higher education institution in Canada. We will start our full courses in Autumn 2024. As a startup, we need the support of all those who value equality, social justice, and inclusivity. Please, click HERE to pitch in. We appreciate your contribution!

JIU'S MISSION

To empower our students to create a more equitable future and provide them with the competencies to navigate a complex and ever-changing world.

JIU's VISION

Transforming lives through relevant skills-based education and fostering innovation and leadership in racialized, and historically underrepresented students.

FACULTIES, SCHOOLS, AND AFFILIATES

Our objective is to establish seventeen (17) principal academic units – and faculties to serve our students, organizations, and our community. Currently, we offer courses through our faculties of Arts & Sciences, Business & Technology, Divinity & Religious Science, and Education & Pedagogy.

FACULTY AND ACADEMIC APPOINTEES

The number of faculty members and academic appointments in affiliated teaching and hospitals will be determined according to the JIU's needs. 

STUDENT BODY

Our student body is formed with students from all over the world. We will soon tally the number of students for each of our schools.

UNIVERSITY COLOR

Rosenberry and Gold

The University's colors Rosenberry and Gold evoke passion and prosperity respectively.

REAL ESTATE HOLDINGS

JIU has 7.5 acres for its affiliate Faculty of Medicine: Ervilus Donnet Hospital Center (CHED) in Haiti. JIU is in the process of acquiring much more space for its campuses. Stay tuned for more upcoming information.

LIBRARY COLLECTION

You no longer have to visit JIU physically to access our collections. Many titles, including books, magazines, and other publications will be available for download to your computer, eBook reader, or mobile device.

UNDERGRADUATE COST & FINANCIAL-AID

At JIU, we believe education transforms lives. That’s why we work hard to help well-deserved underfunded students and families with students get scholarships to significantly reduce tuition costs. We go even further by liberating education, as to offer free tuition courses to all of JIU community members for life. We are working with our partners so that most of our College students receive scholarship aid, grants, and sponsorship.  

JIU EXPENSES

To date, a total of about $2,100,000  has been invested in cash and kind. A fundraising campaign has been launch to start with the university construction.

ENDOWMENT

Check back later, please!

JIU SHIELDS NAMING

Juneteenth Intercontinental University is named after the holiday Juneteenth, which celebrates the end of legal slavery in the United States. The founder of our university wanted to recognize this important day and use it as a symbol of our commitment to education and social justice. Our university's name honors the hard-fought freedom of African Americans and serves as a reminder of the importance of education and opportunity for all. It is our hope that our name will inspire students to strive for excellence and to recognize the power of education to create positive change in our world.

JIU PRESIDENT

Our team is comprised of outstanding individuals, led by our Founder, President, and Vice-Chancellor Dr. R. Joshua Cesaire, all dedicated to creating a unique academic experience for our students. We look forward to providing the highest quality education and support to both our students and the community.

JIU VALUES

The students, faculty, and staff of JIU hold a set of complementary values that we believe are fundamental to our identity and functioning. It is from our varying perspectives that we come together as members of the university community to collectively affirm and enact the following set of values. 

  1. We value excellence : The search for excellence is the hallmark of all our endeavours.

  2. We value learning : Student learning and satisfaction are the measures of our success.

  3. We value scholarly research : We engage in reflective practice through the scholarship of discovery and the scholarship of teaching.

  4. We value the free exchange of ideas : A respectful climate for open discourse promotes innovation, discovery, and social responsibility.

  5. We value openness and flexibility : Reducing barriers to education enhances access and social equity.

  6. We value diversity and inclusiveness : Diversity and inclusiveness enhance the quality both of learning and of the workplace.

  7. We value our employees : The commitment, innovation, creativity, and continuous learning of every employee contribute to our success.

  8. We value accountability : We are accountable to our students, to each other, and to the public.

  9. We value the truth : We are committed to transparency, authenticity, and integrity in all communications and interactions. « The truth is sincere, it is honest, it is hard, it is sharp, it is uncomfortable but it always leaves the conscience calm and the heart happy. » Ortego (2017). 


JIU INCOME

JIU will constantly post its income and be transparent with its fiscal dealings. There is no income to show yet.

JIU CAMPAIGN

The Intercontinental Campaign is designed to embrace the future and ensure JIU’s leadership from the start. It educates its students to cultivate inquisitive minds in the pursuit of truth and humanism.

JIU's MOTTO

Veritas I Spasenje = Truth and Salvation

Our motto "Veritas I Spasenje" means truth and salvation, reflecting JIU's commitment to providing an education that inspires truth-seeking, personal growth, and global transformation.

UNIVERSITY PROFESSORS

Our team is comprised of outstanding individuals, led by our Founder, President, and Vice-Chancellor Dr. R. Joshua Cesaire, all dedicated to creating a unique academic experience for our students. We look forward to providing the highest quality education and support to both our students and the community.

JIU-X

JIU-X is a University-wide strategic initiative, overseen by the Office of the Vice Provost for Advances in Learning (VPAL), to enable faculty to build and create open online learning experiences (free, low-touch, high-touch) for residential and online use and to enable groundbreaking research in online pedagogies.

MORE INFORMATION

Learn all about JIU and why we’re the right University for you. In this section, we have compiled some of the most frequently asked questions we’ve received over the years. If there is something that we missed, please reach out, and a member of our staff will get in touch with you.

Juneteenth en un coup d'œil

Notre raison d'être

JUNETEENTH EN UN COUP D'ŒIL

Université Intercontinentale Juneteenth est une université bilingue (anglais-français). Elle est établie principalement comme une université en ligne et comme le premier et le seul établissement d'enseignement supérieur racialisé au Canada. Nous commencerons nos cours complets à l'automne 2024. En tant que startup, nous avons besoin du soutien de tous ceux qui valorisent l'égalité, la justice sociale et l'inclusivité. S'il vous plaît, cliquez ICI pour participer. Nous apprécions votre contribution !

FACULTÉS, ÉCOLES ET AFFILIÉS


Notre objectif est de créer dix-sept (17) unités académiques principales – et facultés pour servir nos étudiants, nos organisations et notre communauté. Actuellement, nous proposons des cours dans nos facultés des arts et des sciences, des affaires et de la technologie, de la théologie et des sciences religieuses, ainsi que de l'éducation et de la pédagogie.

PERSONNES NOMINÉES DANS LES ENSEIGNANTS ET ACADÉMIQUES

Le nombre de membres du corps professoral et les nominations universitaires dans les établissements d'enseignement et les hôpitaux affiliés seront déterminés en fonction des besoins de l'UIJ. 

LE CORPS DES ÉTUDIANTS/ÉTUDIANTES


Notre corps étudiants et étudiantes est composé d'élèves du monde entier. Nous comptabiliserons bientôt le nombre d'élèves pour chacune de nos écoles.

COULEUR UNIVERSITAIRE

Rosenberry et Or

Les couleurs de l'Université, Rosenberry et Or, évoquent respectivement la passion et la prospérité.

LA MISSION De l'UIJ


Donner à nos étudiants les moyens de créer un avenir plus équitable et de leur fournir les compétences nécessaires pour naviguer dans un monde complexe et en constante évolution.

La VISION de l'UIJ

Transformer des vies grâce à une éducation pertinente basée sur les compétences et favoriser l’innovation et le leadership chez les étudiants racialisés et historiquement sous-représentés.

PATRIMOINE IMMOBILIER


L'UIJ possède 7,5 acres pour sa faculté de médecine affiliée : le Centre hospitalier Ervilus Donnet (CHED) en Haïti. L'UIJ est en train d'acquérir beaucoup plus d'espace pour ses campus. Restez à l’écoute pour plus d’informations à venir.

COLLECTION DE LA BIBLIOTHÈQUE


Vous n'avez plus besoin de vous rendre physiquement à l'UIJ pour accéder à nos collections. De nombreux titres, notamment des livres, des magazines et d'autres publications, seront disponibles en téléchargement sur votre ordinateur, votre lecteur de livre électronique ou votre appareil mobile.

COÛT DU PREMIER CYCLE ET AIDE FINANCIÈRE

À l'UIJ, nous pensons que l'éducation transforme la vie. C’est pourquoi nous travaillons avec diligence pour aider les étudiants sous-financés et les familles avec étudiants à obtenir des bourses afin de réduire considérablement les frais de scolarité. Nous allons encore plus loin en libérant l’éducation, en offrant des cours gratuits à tous les membres de la communauté de l'UIJ. Nous travaillons avec nos partenaires pour que la plupart de nos étudiants du Collège reçoivent des bourses d'études, des subventions et des parrainages. 

DÉPENSES DE L'UIJ


À ce jour, un total d'environ 2 100 000 $ a été investi en espèces et en nature. Une campagne de financement a été lancée pour démarrer la construction de l'université.

DONATION


Revenez plus tard, s'il vous plaît, pour plus amples information sur la dotation !

NOM DES BOUCLIERS DE L'UIJ


L'Université intercontinentale Juneteenth doit son nom à la fête Juneteenth, qui célèbre la fin de l'esclavage légal aux États-Unis. Le fondateur de notre université a voulu reconnaître cette journée importante et l'utiliser comme symbole de notre engagement envers l'éducation et la justice sociale. Le nom de notre université rend hommage à la liberté durement combattue des Afro-Américains, Haïtiens et les anciens esclaves,  qui rappelle l'importance de l'éducation et des opportunités pour tous. Nous espérons que notre nom incitera les étudiants à viser l’excellence et à reconnaître le pouvoir de l’éducation pour décoloniser notre pensée et créer un changement positif dans notre monde.

PRÉSIDENT DE L'UIJ


Notre équipe est composée de personnes exceptionnelles, dirigées par notre fondateur, président et vice-chancelier, Dr R. Joshua Cesaire, tous dévoués à créer une expérience académique unique pour nos étudiants. Nous sommes impatients de fournir une éducation et un soutien de la plus haute qualité à nos étudiants et à la communauté.

VALEURS DE L'UIJ


1. L'engagement de l'Université Intercontinentale Juneteenth est de :
favoriser la curiosité intellectuelle, faire progresser les connaissances et nourrir la croissance spirituelle
2. Donner la priorité à l’égalité, à la justice, à la diversité, à l’inclusion et à l’autonomisation
3. Inculquer des valeurs de responsabilité sociale, d'engagement communautaire et de leadership éthique, en encourageant les étudiants à apporter des contributions positives à la société
4. Promouvoir des valeurs qui permettent aux étudiants de devenir des agents de changement positifs dans le monde.

Forts de plusieurs années d’expérience en tant qu’éducateurs, nous savons ce qu’il faut pour impliquer les étudiants et les préparer à la vie adulte. Notre approche pédagogique unique permet à nos étudiants de se sentir valorisés, respectés et appréciés. 

À l'UIJ, nous croyons en la promotion d'une expérience créative et collaborative pour aider nos étudiants à atteindre leur plein potentiel et à poursuivre leurs rêves. Contactez-nous pour savoir ce que nous pouvons faire pour vous.

REVENU DE L'UIJ


L'UIJ transparence dans ses transactions fiscales. Il n'y a pas encore de revenus à afficher.

CAMPAGNE DE L'UIJ


La Campagne Juneteenth est conçue pour s’ouvrir à l’avenir et assurer dès le départ le leadership de l’UIJ. Notre université éduque ses étudiants à cultiver un esprit curieux à la recherche de la vérité et de l'humanisme.

DISPOSITIF de l'UIJ


Veritas I Spasenje = Vérité et Salut

Notre conception « Veritas I Spasenje » signifie vérité et salut, reflétant l'engagement de l'UIJ à fournir une éducation qui inspire la recherche de la vérité, la croissance personnelle et la transformation mondiale.

JIU-X

JIU-X est une initiative stratégique à l'échelle de l'université, supervisée par le Bureau du Vice-Provost for Advances in Learning (VPAL), visant à permettre aux professeurs d'innover et de créer des expériences d'apprentissage en ligne ouvertes (gratuites, à faible contact et à contact élevé) pour utilisation résidentielle et en ligne et pour permettre des recherches révolutionnaires sur les pédagogies en ligne.

PROFESSEURS UNIVERSITAIRES

Notre équipe est composée de personnes exceptionnelles, dirigées par notre fondateur, président et vice-chancelier, Dr R. Joshua Cesaire, tous dévoués à créer une expérience académique unique pour nos étudiants. Nous sommes impatients de fournir une éducation et un soutien de la plus haute qualité à nos étudiants et à la communauté.

PLUS D'INFORMATIONS


Apprenez tout sur l'UIJ et pourquoi nous sommes l'université qu'il vous faut. Dans cette section, nous avons compilé certaines des questions les plus fréquemment posées au fil des ans. Si quelque chose nous a échappé, veuillez nous contacter et un membre de notre équipe vous contactera pour faire le suivi.